His Majesty, Queen Hatshepsut

Author: Carter, Dorothy Sharp
Publisher: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Publishers, 1987
Reading Level: young adult

A somewhat romanticised account of the life of Hatshepsut, the queen who, in the first half of the 18th Dynasty, declared herself king and ruled as such for more than twenty years.

Valley of the Kings: A Novel of Tutankhamun

Author: Holland, Cecelia
Publisher: Forge, 1997

America's premier historical novelist tells the story of intrepid Howard Carter as he struggles against the rigours of the desert and the intransigence of Egypt's Department of Antiquities to search in the Valley of the Kings for a hidden tomb.

Amelia Peabody Mysteries

Author: Elizabeth Peters
Publisher: Warner Books, 1992 ff.

Follow the adventures or Egyptologist and Victorian gentlewoman Amelia Peabody and her family set against the backdrop of World War 1 and the changing politics in the Middle East.

Lieutenant Bak Series

Author: Haney, Lauren
Publisher: Avon, 1997 ff.

Long before there was Hercule Poirot, long before there was Sherlock Holmes, there was Lieutenant Bak, an officer in the Egyptian army stationed in a fortress guarding the border with Nubia and a sleuth ready to solve any mystery.

Lord Meren Mysteries

Author: Lynda S. Robinson
Publisher: Walker & Co, 1994 ff.

Agatha Christie styled novels, set in the time of Tutankhamun, with Lord Meren as an investigator.


Author: Christian Jacq
Publisher: Warner Books, 1997 ff.

Christian Jacq, Egyptologist turned novelist, recounts the life of Ramesses II from his childhood to his death.

© Jacques Kinnaer 1997 - 2017